quitting time
11:44 a.m.

Dear Boss,

I have to say it's been fun working min wage for your little cafe. Where else can I sit and daydream for 3 hours without being disturbed? And then be praised for the half-assed job I do? But I have to say, if you don't want me to quit my job, you're going to have to come up with a better way of handling employees. Not that you're not a nice person. But when someone calls in sick, I'm not going to fill in because I already have plans. It's not fair to make me come in on such a short warning, then make me into an irresponsible beast when I'm too busy. I'm sorry things aren't going as well as they ought to be, but that's not my fault. I do more than my share and I'm only paid the bare minimum. Sure it's a nice place, that's why I've stuck around for so long.

But honestly, can you afford to keep me as an employee?

Oh, and did I forget to mention my plans to eventually move? To get a full time job that can afford me, keep me fed, and allow me to live the life I deserve? I haven't muttered a word yet because I know you'll freak...even though I'm uncertain as to whether or not I am moving. The money, though, is a problem. This part time job is becoming a full time hassle and I'm not getting paid for it. Getting a second job isn't even worthwhile because of how you've got my time booked up and expect me to be around to fill in here and there.

Don't think I don't appreciate you or how well you've treated me otherwise. It's just time for me to quit and move on. I need something more than wiping down tables and taking orders.

Your Former Employee

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex