whether you know it or not
9:07 p.m.

Parents,

Hi. Look at me. 18 years old. Freshman in college. Yeah, that's me, whether you can see it or not. I can make my own decisions. I have good judgment. Whether you know it or not. Not every guy in my life means he's my boyfriend. I don't even want a boyfriend right now! So just because my cousin feels the need to tell you I was walking with a guy doesn't mean I'm not telling you something. I don't need to drop into the conversation, "Oh, I was walking to class with [insert girl's name]." That means I don't need to tell you if I'm walking somewhere with a [insert boy's name].

And then after I say no, don't tell me not to lie to you. If I get a serious boyfriend, I'll tell you. 18. Grown-up, not in every way, but in enough ways to know that I want to tell my parents if I'm seriously dating a guy.

And why are you just going to say boy? I mean, just because I'm a girl doesn't mean I don't have friends who are guys. My best since the sixth grade has been a boy! And I still talk to him! And you know that!

So, there.

Sincerely,

Your Daughter

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex