Dear Fellow Humans
2:51 p.m.

Dear Letter Writers:

Is the whole world really as lonely as it seems from these web pages? Does every house contain someone who feels they can only whisper their darkest secrets into the void of cyberspace?

We write letters that are never sent, or we cry into diaries about the darkness of lonely nights...and yet we never realize that our neighbor right down the street feels the same way. Or, do we?

I know that there are so many people in the world who feel sad, or alone, and that if I made the effort to reach out to them then maybe I'd be killing two birds with one stone. And yet, I don't. I only tell these things to You out there who I have never seen, or met, nor will i ever.

Am i afraid? Are you all afraid? Or is it a general laziness, and a secret desire to feel that we are each the only person in the world that feels as we do?

If you love him...tell him. If you hate her...well, for goodness' sake let her know so she'll go away and leave you alone. If you feel sad, go up to a stranger on a bus or at school (though I wouldn't recommend going up to anyone who is doing anything strange like talking to themselves or picking their nose...there ARE crazies out there you know) and just start talking to them. Maybe you'll find out that there's someone in your close proximity who mirrors your feelings about life, love, or just who should have won at the Olympics.

We all live on this planet together. It's time we stopped trying to ignore everyone outside of the tiny circles we call our friends.

That's my public service announcement for today, ladies and gentlemen...I rarely try to project an uplifting message, so bare with me if it seems a little awkward.

Hello and Goodbye to all,

Me

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex