Goodbye John...
5:07 p.m.

Dear John,

I know you and me only knew eachother because we were Orienteering Aces, but the fact was, that you are my friend, well.. were. I'm sorry that I'm crying and I'm not doing much to console Will, infact he's been having to console me.

I'm sorry that you and me were never as close as you were to Will or Andrew, and that it's too late to change it all now.

It's tragic what happened to you, but I'm glad it was sudden, and you didn't go through much pain when you got hit by that car.

I'm still in shock... that it was you who died... the idea that anyone of my friends could die, like that, or at any moment... that you died like that. It's heart breaking.

I'd like you to know that I've been telling everyone I know, that I love them, thanks to you. Even if they already knew, I want them to know, because of you.

The idea that anyone could go at any moment in time, has never hit me before, until now. I'm sorry that your death had to open my eyes to this harsh reality of life, that you had to go in order to teach me this lesson.

I've never been much on saying religious things, but I know that you are in God's hands and you're going to look over your family and friends. Make sure you take care of Will and Andrew too, I'll do my best to help them from here.

I don't know why this happened, and this letter to you is just a mad jumble of thoughts and confusion I'm going through right now. I hope you're okay... I hope all your family is okay... I hope all your friends are okay... I pray for them, and you.

No more doing your happy walk down the hall, no more sarcastic remarks, no more encouragement to keep running for practice. What are we going to do without you?

It's scary... but everything happens for a reason... no matter how horrible this feels or seems... there's has to be a greater cause some where, but I'm sorry it was you.

Goodbye.

Mournful and Heartbroken,

Elizabeth Caler

(John Absalon was born 3/8/85 and died three days before his birthday, 3/5/02, in a car accident. He leaves behind loving family and friends who miss him greatly.)

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex