To you, From Me
4:36 p.m.

Dear you,

I don't know what else to call you but 'you'. There used to be so many nicknames, so many fun things to call you. But after all we've been through, I don't know what to call you anymore. You used to hate me. And then she broke your heart and I was there for you, when nobody else was. I liked you then, even though I would have never admitted it. But I was there for you. I even called her up and asked her, my worst enemy, to go back out with you. And why did I do this? It wasn't because I thought you two were the perfect couple, it was for you. Purely because I just wanted you to be happy. I was there for you that night that she shattered your heart. And I was there for you the next day. And the next. And pretty soon, we were best friends. We did everything together. I liked you. And you liked me, even though I still haven't gotten you to admit it. I know you liked me. Do you remember the time you called me over to you, and you got inches away from my face, and then changed your mind and backed up? Do you remember the song you dedicated to me and played for me on the phone whenever I was having a bad day? Do you remember the countless nights that we fell asleep on the phone with each other because neither of us wanted to say goodbye? Do you remember telling me you'd truly marry me if you could? Do you remember any of that? Do you remember being mad at yourself for caring what your friends think and NOT going out with me? Well, I do. Even if you don't, I remember. I will always remember. The memories of you and I will forever be burned into my mind, no matter how much I try to convince my friends I've forgotten you. But I don't care what my friends think.

You did, though, and that's the only reason that you and I had to stop being friends. I see you now, in school, with her. You two are becoming close again, instead of the enemies you were when you weren't together.

Soon, you will be back with her, I know it. And then, I can go back to normal. You can go back to hating me. I can go back to my normal life, minus you. It can be just the way it was 8 months ago.

Except for the small flame of you that remains burning in my heart. It will be there forever, whether you know it or not. And maybe, just maybe, you have a flame for me too.

I better go now, you are going to wonder what's taking me so long to 'go do something I need to do'. And you are going to wonder why I'm crying when I get back. I'm sorry, I can't tell you. I can never let you know how much I still love you. I'm sorry.

And I don't know how to end this letter, just like I didn't know how to begin it. You had so many fun little nicknames for me, but after all we've been through, I don't know what to call myself.

Me

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex