Denver to Rome
3:10 p.m.

Dear you:

Remember when we were in my bed and it was cold outside but we'd been in the same spot for hours so we were warm, and you promised me we'd be together in Rome and I believed you and I never questioned it because you told me I asked too many questions when I should have been believing what I had been told. But then it was Sunday and we were starting to get hungry so we got up and went into the kitchen. I thought I had left something in the bed because It felt like there was something missing. But then we got in the kitchen and you took a box out of the cupboard and brought it to me and I lifted my hand to take it and my arm was missing some weight and i looked down and my bracelet was gone. the bracelet I got when I was fifteen and my life got saved by a feeling I thought was love, was gone. but before I could say anything you opened the box and there was a new bracelet inside and you took it out and put it on me and told me you loved me and you never wanted me to forget. the words "Kiki" with diamonds on one side and "grapefruit" engraved on the other. Both of my nicknames. And when I wraped my arms around you I felt like I did two days earlier when I picked you up from the airport and knew you'd been gone but you were home now. And when we passed by the trashcan to go back to my bed I saw my old bracelet in the trashcan and I left it there.

But now it is a month later and my bags are packed and my face is flushed because I can remember when I was fifteen and I got a bracelet from someone who saved my life by a feeling I thought was love. But I can see the bracelet I got from the same person who saved my life by a feeling I know is love.

Flight 363. Leaving at 3:00 AM. Denver to Rome.

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex