your love is amazing
10:49 p.m.

I'm so glad you came today. You were so endearing. The way you smiled when she took your coat, the way you laughed at jokes that weren't funny, the way you let your guard down in front of my family.

When I was sitting on the couch about to open my presents you gave me this look, and it made me feel wonderful. It was like you were comfortable in that spot, that you wanted to always be there. I know I want you to always be there.

I guess today was the day of looks, though, because you gave me another one when I was with my cousins. It was one of the sweetest looks you have ever given me, and the best part was that you did it when you didn't think I was watching. It wasn't something you did just for show, it was real.

You make me happier than anyone else ever has. Being with you has made me stronger and more passionate. I don't think there is anything I couldn't achieve if I wanted to, as long as I have you with me.

I can't believe I survived all those years without you. I suppose it's because I didn't know what I was missing, but no one could pay me enough to go back to the days when your sunshine did not light up every corner of my life.

The love you have for me is this great, immeasurable thing that overwhelms me. I feel like I am drowning in it, but I never want to lose it. When things are going badly I can just sit there and think of you and suddenly I'm smiling. That's all it takes, did you know that?

Even though I constantly say I love you more, I really do feel like it's so small in comparison. It would take hours for me to list all the ways you have made me a better person. You are always doing things that make me fall in love with you all over again. I mean, come on, you're almost too good to be true. I say, "I'm your weakness." Your reply? "And you're my strength." Even now, thinking about that makes me feel so enormously unworthy.

To this day I have no idea why I am the one that you want. To me, I'm just some girl with a smart mouth, emotional hang-ups and an average-to-slightly-sub-par body. To you, though, I am beauty and intelligence and a reason to get up in the morning. Somehow those two don't add up quite right, but I'll take what you say and hide it in my heart.

Perhaps the best way to end this is to tell you what I want to do using the words of someone whose grasp of the English language is so much greater than mine.

�How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.

I love thee to the level of everyday's

Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight.

I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;

I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.

I love thee with the passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood's faith.

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints,--I love thee with the breath,

Smiles, tears, of all my life!--and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death.�

Elizabeth Barrett Browning

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex