To Mom
12:40 p.m.

Mom,

I don't know what's happened. Maybe it's the old cliche, about how teenagers can't relate to their parents and nobody understands them.... maybe. Whenever I used to get in trouble or upset, I'd be angry for a little while but then I'd feel bad and start crying... so you'd come in and sit on the edge of my bed, and we'd talk about it, and even though I hated letting people see me cry, I'd end up in tears and you'd hug me and tell me it was okay.

Now I cry for different reasons but you never notice. You think everything's fine with me, and that when I'm rude or mean or critical it's just because I want to be that way. But that's not true, not all the time. I just want you to notice that something's wrong. I want you to hug me and tell me it'll be okay. I don't know how to tell you any other way, because half of me fiercely still won't let anybody see me cry and yet the other half is yearning to be comforted. I don't know what to do or what to say or what to tell you... why don't you notice me anymore?

Love,

Your daughter

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex