I'm sorry, Mom
8:33 p.m.

Dear Mom,

I feel like a total bitch for the way I treat you sometimes, but then you treat me the same way, and unfortunately, it feels good. I hate being a bitch to people, but sometimes they just deserve it.

The way you treat Jack pisses me off more than anything else in the world. You treat him like he's ten, don't give him any responsiblity, and then yell at him because he's not "mature" enough for your standards.

You treat everyone like crap, just because you WANT to. And I hate that about you. There are some things I love about you - your value in friendship, your caring, and your sense of humor are just a few.

But I absolutely hate the disaproval in your voice whenever I wear something you didn't pick out. I hate the un-caring in your eyes when I get a good grade. I hate how you yell at me for everything when hardly any of it is MY fault. Sometimes it is, but most of the time, it's not. How many teenagers do you know that would actually admit that they're wrong, even some of the time.

You think you have it so bad because Jack and I don't listen to every word you say and swallow it like a big ol' pill of truth. You could have it so much worse. Yet, either you're too blind to realize it, or you just don't care. Neither of us has ever smoked a cigarette, neither of us has ever done a drug, and neither of us has ever gotten drunk, or in fact, had an entire alcoholic beverage in one sitting, and I'm not even sure if all the sips we've had in our lifetime would add up to one can of beer. We're both still virgins, we don't swear at you, we help out around the house sometimes. I get good grades, Jack passes.

Yet you don't care. You don't even seem to notice anything that goes on outside of your little realm. And that drives me up a wall. You're so SELFISH. But, maybe, at the same time, I'm being a little selfish for wanting my mother to pay attention to me that doesn't involve getting ridiculed for everything, even stuff I didn't even do or can't even help.

Or maybe not.

I'm sorry I'm such a disappointment.

Your daughter,
Jules

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex