better than they were
12:34 p.m.

I'm so afraid of being left behind, of having to let go of you. I don't know what to do without you. I don't know how to live a life without you in it.

But, our lives are rapidly changing and I'm afraid you and I will fade out of each other's lives. A distant memory, a faded picture of someone who touched your life for a few years.

And I'll remember you as being better than you really were. And I'll only remember the times you made me laugh, and the times you made me smile. And I'll remember conversations without the words. But, how will you remember me?

You say you're not leaving me. You say it's not going to change, that you're still going to be around. A pact to keep in touch, to at least check in with one another. But I don't know if that's enough. I don't know if that's enough to replace what was so good, so right, so perfect.

See. I'm already imagining things as better than they were.

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex