My Nomadic Boy...
1:30 p.m.

I saw you for the first time in four months the other day. And it was great.

I got your message, you have a new mobile number so I wasn't sure who it was at first, but it wasn't too hard to work out. I was already bounving off the walls, but suddenly I couldn't stop smiling. My flatmates kept asking me why I was so happy.

I told them you were visiting, and we arranged to meet you the next night. You phoned me during the day, but I was too nervous to take the call, and when u called again, my flatmate accidently pressed the hang up button when trying to answer it. So, it was me who had to pluck up the courage to call u back.

Me and E walked onto campus early, we stood outside the tower and called up our Happy Birthday's to J. You pulled back the curtain and waved at us, and u looked as good as I'd remembered, even better than I had imagined.

You guys took a while to come down to the bar, the match was already started and me and E were already halfway thru our drinks. But eventually u did arrive, got ur drinks, and for a moment we thought u wouldn't see us, but then you did, and I felt so nervous and awkward.

We stumbled slightly into our conversation, but soon it began to fell natural, as those we were still part of those short 8 months we spent together. I asked you all about the D.R. and you asked me about my summer and Barcelona.

When we all got seats, we were sitting next to eachother, and I noticed you had ur arm round the back of the sofa, behind me, but maybe I'm reading too much into it. You didn't seem to mind when I slipped my hand into your pocket to take out your mobile, and at the bar you promised to send me back Cigars and Rum.

It was a good night, and James looked like he had a good time, but I only wanted to be near you. We kinda ran out of things to say, but I'm not sure that really mattered.

You looked sad when we were back at the flat, kinda....deflated or something. I couldn't quite place it. I don't know whether I'm just hoping for something that doesn't exist. When we said goodbye, I reminded you about the postcards, and you promised you would send them again, and you laughed when I asked you not to say "easy *enter my name*" when you email me. But I know you understand.

I never dreamed I would meet anyone like you.

No, wait, that's all I thought someone like you would be, 'the stuff of my dreams', I didn't expect you to be a reality.

I feel we have a connection. You once told me that you "always had time for me," and do you remember just before christmas us hanging out in the kitchen drinking your lime cocktail, getting drunk, and falling on the floor together? How there was this pause, like in corny films, where we would have kissed, yet we didn't. And do you remember that crazy weekend? When we both, again, not too sober, went to find our third member,("we're not like the others, you, me and N" you said) and ended up rolling around on the floor like little kids?

I even forgive you for that stupid one night stand. Which I know you regret. Even though there isn't any reason for me to forgive you, like I've said, nothing has ever happened between us. Even so, you sleeping with her really hurt.

And I'm sorry. Sorry if I couldn't be there when you were trying to explain to me how you weren't quite over your ex. Sorry that I wondered if any of those girls "that you thought about asking out" were me. I'm sorry that nothing ever happened.

Yet, I'm not sorry I met you. And, at least we're friends. We're both still single, so who knows. I'm thinking of going to visit u in the D.R. this summer, for two wks, and I'm trying to get E to come with me so it won't be too strange.

For now, I miss you, and maybe I'm falling in love with you, and maybe it's lust. But whatever.

Just know I am here for you.

xxx Rach.

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex