and I'll never be good enough for you
11:05 a.m.

Dear Parents,

I've asked you before. I've asked you to trust my judgment. Why can't you look at me and see the person everybody else sees?

You only see my mistakes. You only see the possibility of mistakes I could make. You've never even see me make a truly bad mistake.

You don't see me at all.

I've spent my entire life trying to be good enough for you and I have always always failed. I don't want to be the right career, I won't speak Vietnamese, I'm too fat, I'm too Americanized, I'm not smart enough, I'm not home enough, and now I'm a sorority girl.

I will never be good enough for you. And now I've stopped trying.

I don't want to be good enough for you.

Because I am good enough. I'm enjoying my life, truly enjoying it and actually feeling like I'm doing everything I can to make the most out of it, out of college, out of this whole experience. It's the first time I've felt like this since my freshman year of high school! And you cannot see that.

And you can't see that I am a smart person, that I can make smart decisions. Do you not remember the fact that I know where a bad decision can take you firsthand? My classmate died the summer before our senior year because of her mistake and you think I'm going to go out and not think about what can happen to you?

I wish you would trust my judgment.

I wish you would believe that you had raised a better daughter than that.

Sincerely,

your daughter

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex