Fiance
1:35 a.m.

Dear Fiance,

Or should I say ex? I liked fiance better.... back then.

You didn't have to be cruel. I know we're over. You didn't have to be hateful. I wasn't trying to get you back.

I wanted you to know the pain I feel. I wanted you to care. I didn't want your love. I wanted your empathy. You should feel it too -- we were "in love," weren't we?

"You had me, but you treated me like shit because I wasn't good enough for you. If this man you are dating is in any way a good man, then by God and all that is holy, stop looking over his shoulder for a better man and love him with every ounce of your soul. And when he fails you, which he will (he isn't Jesus Christ), bite your tounge and love him. And for both your sakes, encourage him. The last thing he, or anyone else in this world needs is a downer . . . life is hard enough. I don't expect to hear from you again."

I had you and *I* treated *you* like shit? I? I was willing to give up everything. My home. My family. My school. My career. My friends. My life. Everything was yours... yours without even asking. I gave myself to you in every way I could.. I served you with everything I had... and this... this is my thanks?

He's not like you. He's kind. He's gentle. He loves me. The purest, simplest love I have ever found. No games, no threats, no hatred kept hidden for weeks. No, he doesn't share your fanatical, twisted faith. And for that I am thankful.

I'm sorry I said that I was thinking of you, but I won't let you take away my happiness. Not this time. Not ever again.

I'm sad, but I'm gone. Long gone. You won't hear from me again. You have my ring... I hope it's helped you pay your fucking rent. There's nothing left for me to give you.

Goodbye.

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex