this is what consumes me
3:52 p.m.

-

i know what it is to truly love...the kind of love that doesn't involve thought, it doesn't entail reason, and it doesn't invite reproach...it is what it is, and it doesn't fade, it doesn't waver, it doesn't faulter with any whimsical mood swing. it is everlasting in its severity. my skin burns for you...and when you touch me, it burns because of you. i feel adrift, anchorless, weightless...but when you put your arms around me i am soothed. i feel calm. my heart pounds, but it is a tranquil rhythm. even in the face of absolute denial on your part, even in this period of acceptance that i have had to deal with, even in the knowledge that you refuse to love me back...i just know that there is no one else for me in this world. sure, i will replace you...i am only human, after all. and i know there will be others that i will love...but this fire, this wild, uncontrollable flame, this all-encompassing inferno that chars my heart and heats my flesh will never be reproduced by anyone. you were the source of its ignition, but even you can't put it out. yes, i know now what it is to truly love...now all i have to do is learn to let it go before all that's left of me is ashes.

-

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex