I need you to know
12:29 a.m.

Dear Adam,

I know this may seem totally out of the blue and very unexpected, but I needed to tell you this before we part ways and I potentially not see you ever again. You don't need to respond, I wouldn't expect you to. You don't even have to keep reading, but this is more for me than for you.

First, I want to congratulate you. We did it. You did it. Four years of university and you made it through. That's an incredible accomplishment and you should be SO proud of yourself. I am proud of you. I hope you enjoyed it, and take the time to reflect on what you've learned - both academically and personally. You've changed a lot, and so have the people around you, but all for the better. You grew up and persevered and proved to everyone that you are capable of doing whatever it is that you want.

Second, I want to apologize. I know when we ended things we promised that we would stay friends. And we tried that for awhile but it just didn't work. We knew each other too well and it was just too awkward. So we drifted apart. But when we started to hang out again I let old feelings cloud my judgement. I thought what I was feeling was something more and I allowed that to screw up a potentially good friendship. I'm so sorry. I think we could have had something amazing and spectacular but instead I made it awkward and distant. I know I can't change the past but I hope that the future will be different for the both of us.

Third, I want to wish you good luck. In whatever you decide to do, wherever you decide to go. You deserve the best. You are an amazing individual and you have so much talent and potential. Whether it's a pharmacist or a rock star - you will be the best. I hope you pursue your music though - you truly were amazing and I always enjoyed being serenaded over the phone.

Finally, I want to say goodbye. I've held on to these hopes and dreams for far too long now. Too much of my time is taken up by you and the memories of what we had. But it's time for me to let go - for good this time. What we had was a beautiful thing but it's over. And I accept that now. You will always be with me, nothing will ever change that. But life goes on, hearts mend themselves, and feelings change.

But I want you to know that I will always love you. No matter where you are, what you're doing, or who you're with. You changed me, and I thank you for that. I hope you continue to change people - they are the lucky ones to have known you. I feel so special to be able to count myself as one of the lucky ones.

Love always,

Laura

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex