absolution
10:11 a.m.

A-

I haven't really talked to you in months, and that doesn't really bother me. But we're graduating soon, and I don't like the fact that after all our years of friendship, we're going to leave on bad terms if something doesn't change, so I just have a few things to say. At least then I will have been absolved.

I don't hate you. I never did, even when you told me and anyone else who would listen that you hated me. You know I can't hold grudges, either.

This isn't a "let's be friends" thing. I don't want that now, I doubt it would even be possible if we both wanted it. Too much has been said to take it all back. In fact, I don't even remember why we became friends in the first place.

After we graduate I probably won't ever see you again. We're going to different colleges that are hours apart, and we don't exactly have a lot of things in common anymore. I don't plan on attending class reunions, either.

But I want to wish you good luck. You were a part of my life for seven years, and we had a lot of fun times. I want you to know that I don't hold all the things you said about me against you. Some of it was deserved, the rest, well, it's just not worth it anymore to hold onto those things. I'd like your forgiveness, too, but I doubt I'll ever get that.

So, goodbye and good luck.

B

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex