Intangible
10:44 a.m.

Dear H,

It was good to see you this weekend. When I stopped by to visit you and T, T told me that you weren't around and he wasn't sure when you would be back. I was so afraid you wouldn't get back before I had to leave to come back to school. Even just talking to you one the phone for a few minutes a couple days before had done wonders to get my spirits back up after a rough semester, but I wanted to see you. I've listened to your CD far more often than my roommate appreciates just to hear your voice, but it's not the same as being in your presence.

Right about the time I was giving up hope of you getting back in time, T went out to his car to get a CD that he wanted me to hear. After a minute I heard the back door open and started wondering why T was coming back in that way. It was only when I heard your voice - greeting me more enthusiastically than I had ever dared to hope you would - that I realized it was you.

The three of us talked for about an hour, and it was the best hour of my entire five-day weekend. You guys gave me a sense of welcome that I never thought I'd get. Then, when I had to leave, you asked, "Come by again before Christmas?" and your tone sounded hopeful. Hopeful. My god, you will never know what that meant to me, how much it still means to me. There aren't words for it.

Earlier, before you arrived, I had been talking to T and told him, half joking, that if you guys weren't sick of me yet I wanted to come back this summer and work for you again. His reply was, "I think you're already on the schedule." That gave me a similar feeling of acceptance that I had never hoped to have. Hell, I would've been grateful if you merely hadn't forgotten about me, let alone wanted me to come back. And for that I'll be forever in your debt. I love you guys. Thanks for everything.

~S

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex