V
5:56 p.m.

Kev -

You're back from Paris, and she's grown up enough to tell her folks she's going to live her life for herself and they no longer have the right to make her choices...and though I still have a pang in my heart hearing how happy she makes you, and knowing that you will always choose her over me...I think I have changed the locks on my heart, and your key doesn't work anymore.

I think I have excised that part that used to be yours, and though it's a little scarred and maybe not the prettiest part of a formerly pristine landscape...well, it's stronger for it, I think.

I have a sneaking suspicion that someday, you're going to hit yourself for choosing someone who will try to remake you in her expectations over someone who adored you without any expectations at all...but that's what regret is for.

Over before we began. A damn shame. We could've made beautiful music together...in more ways than one. Good luck. Don't call.

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex