Dear Matthew
11:43 p.m.

Dear Matthew,

I know you won't ever read this because.. well, because you're not the 'internet' type. You're.. well, you're the 'perfect' type. Sometimes I wonder how it's humanly possible for someone to be as good and pure, and perfect as you are. You're a few years older than me, but you know, I've never really been able to see that - you've never let me see that. And even though you're so perfect, you never let on that I, just lowly old me, would be near unworthy of you. I've never once gotten the impression that you didn't want me around - in fact, the one time I was convinced that noone wanted me at Chester's party (since it would be all folks your age, except for Chester, and the two of you were dating at the time and I was sure I would just be an extra wheel, some spare baggage), you encouraged me to come, insisted that I come. You're an amazing, wonderful, superhuman ANGEL that seems to have been placed in the most unlikely of places.

You know, I never ever thought of you in a romantic light before this year. I always looked at you and thought "Matthew - he's too good", but that was before we started talking a little, and just recently, I've thought to myself "Wouldn't it be neat if Matthew were my boyfriend", and suddenly I was thinking of how things would work, where we would go, how you would hold me. Yes, I'm just some infatuated little girl - 17 years old, but still...

So this issue of being dumped by my prom date has come up and you're my last resort. Prom doesn't mean we have to get married - it doesn't even mean we have to see each other again. Salls discussed the importance of NOT asking you, and what I would have to lose (which was basically nothing), and I've thought about it. See, the thing is.. I already asked one boy to go, and we had it all planned out and now he's ducking out on me, so my confidence is a little shaken.. well, more than a little shaken... so if somehow, you get this telepathic message from me, please ask me, so I can goosh and swoon and say yes? I know it's not even your prom, but help me out here a little, dude. Soon enough, I'll be gone and out of your life, and leave you alone.

Sometimes I wonder if you're an angel in disguise.

Love,

Amanda

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex