an anonymous thankyou
5:06 p.m.

To the writer who, way back in July, pledged to start a revolution,

I have no idea who you are, and I sort of like it that way. The anonymity means I can create a person around the letter, create a life around the emotions recorded, as I do for all the letters I read here. I have created a version of you in my mind, and I want you to know that it is wonderful.

I want you to know that your words affected me incredibly. That I did look at you and wish I could have your mentality. That you gave me the freedom to develop that mentality - to like what I like, to wear what I want, to be who I am. This all sounds ridiculously exagerrated - all you did was write a letter on a website - but it's true. You made me free, you gave me power. I am eternally grateful to you.

One of my resolutions is to give more credit where it is owed, to say more thank yous. So thank you, anonymous writer.

Yours, a reader.

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex