how to show you, what to say?
7:34 p.m.

Dear University Lecturers,

I really feel that despite having spent three days at your venerable institution, I have not truly shown myself to you. Dedication? Passion? Innovative thinking? Baby, you have found the right girl! I got all that goin on, and so much more. I will be good for your English department, I will be good for your Student Union, I will be good for your college. I will work hard and I will have lots of fun and I will fabulous poems about mornings exactly like this morning, when the trees are frost tipped and beautiful gothic building loom out of the fog.

But I feel that I have not be allowed to convince you of any of this. I feel that you will view me as just the same as the dull sloany pony club girl who came after me, and that is not fair. I am so much more interesting than Kitty or Georgie or whatever her damn name was, and so much more committed, and I care about literature. I just didn't know how to show you that, and now I'm not convinced you saw. I'll just have to cross my fingers, I suppose, and hope that I impressed you more than the other four people who want my place.

Sincerely,

An Interviewee

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex