oh mom
2:22 p.m.

Dear Mom,

Let me go, but don't shove me away. I'm twenty years old and just asking to be allowed to live without having to be made to feel that I am worthless by you and your endless snide remarks. I know I have made mistakes in the past (mistakes that were probably so damaging as to never be reparable no matter what i may do), but that was the past and I'm not looking for trouble anymore. I'm just trying to live. To form healthy relationships. To be a normal person who has all of the normal problems that life entails. Just because you want to be consumed by the past does not mean that I have to be. I still have (hopefully) a long time to live...a 16 year old girl's misjudgement is not going to be my downfall.

But I say these things to you and you don't even hear me. You just continue running the broken records in your head. Over and over I hear the same words. Slut. Bitch. Liar. Things that I would never dream of calling you, things that I would never dream of saying to you, because I love you too much....but you gladly say them to me and proclaim them the undying truth.

Well, fuck your truths. I am sick of what you stand by and preach upon as the truth. I am tired of hearing you say whatever hurtful thing you can think of just because it's the "truth" to you. You don't care who it hurts, you just smile in self-righteousness and continue spouting ugly misconceptions.

I love you. And I'm sorry that in my path to grow up I have hurt you. No matter what you say I never did it intentionally. I just want us to be able to live together. Side by side. I want to be able to make decisions without you laughing and making fun of me when I make the wrong ones. I just want us to be friends. Surely you could give me that consideration. Don't I deserve the same amount of respect that you would give any stranger on the street? Or do you hate me that much?

Love,

You daughter

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex