Broken Promises
11:02 p.m.

Dear Parents,

When I was younger, you made promises. The promises you made always seemed to get broken. And, I hated it. I absolutely hated the way you always broke your promises to me. It broke my heart and I didn't understand why you always had to go and do that. Didn't you understand how much those things meant to me? How I would look forward to things and then to hear you say that something else came up would make me sad and teary eyed because I had spent all this energy into being excited for something.

Now I'm older, but you're still breaking promises. And it still breaks my heart. It wouldn't bother me so much if only you would just stop saying you'll do something for me by a certain time and then two weeks later say you never said that, or change things. I didn't understand why you did those things when I was younger and I still don't understand why you do these things to me now.

I always used to think I'll never do that to my kids. I will never break a promise to a little child because breaking a promise to a little child is the equivalent of breaking their heart. I realize I can't make that gurantee that I won't break promises to my children, but I sure as hell am going to try. All I have to do is remember the time you broke your promise to me, and the tears it brought to my eyes as I lied in my bed in the dark, sniffling as quietly as possible for fear I would be found, crying to myself.

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex