College dropout
5:47 p.m.

This was written in Sept. 15, 1994, which was never mailed out.

Dear Abby:

I am one of those people who thought would never write to you, but I am faced with a dilemma. I would very much appreciate it if you could help me. I went to college a few years ago. The workload was overwhelming and I didn't know how to handle the stress. Then the stress finally got to me. As a result, I had a nervous breakdown and dropped out in my second year. Now, I have a low status job and I want to go back to college and earn my diploma.

The problem is, my former school won't take me back. The won't give a second chance or even academic probation. I tried to apply to other schools, but they won't take me either because my last GPA was far below 2.00. I admit that I didn't do that great in college and muy grades are not outstanding. I believe now that I can handle the work and I've learned how to handle stress better. I sincerely want to go back and I'm more than willing to work hard this time. I would like to erase the old records and start over from a clean slate. I've been told that there's no way to this, since I got some college credit and a couple of F's from my last school. I wish I could turn back the clock.

My cousin suggested that I pretend that I never attented college; I just keep that part of my past a secret when I enroll in a college. What should I do? I won't be accepted at any college. I would have to lie about my academic past. I don't know what my other options are. Are there any colleges that will give me a second chance? How can I make a future for myself when no one will not give me the chance? Thank you for your time.

From,

--------

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex