the sweater
9:47 p.m.

Dear Juicy(yeah, the designer clothing people),

So, I'm thumbing through a site with some of you're clothing on it. I'm not a huge fan. Don't take that personally, I just don't think having a huge "JUICY" across my chest displays class. I happened to find a certain pink sweater. It was cute. Preppy, but cute. Something I'd wear. I click on the link and read more about the sweater when I see the price...

$246

Who the fuck do you think you are? You think just because you're some big designer you can price a sweater, which anyone could make and for a lot cheaper, at 246 bucks?

I wish I, or my parents, had 246 dollars to blow on one sweater.

But, no, my parents are broke from spending all their money trying to provide a good education for my brother and I. My parents are out there, working their lives away for my education and you have the nerve to price a sweater at $246?

There will be, of course, girls in my school who will probably be sporting the exact sweater. They'll walk around the halls with their fake smiles and protesting about how they're "princesses".

I look at these girls and I laugh.

I looked at your sweater and I laughed.

These girls don't know what it's like to know, for a fact, the world doesn't revolve around them. They don't know what it feels like to be denied something time and time again because "we just don't have the money". These girls don't know what it's like to not wanna ask your daddy for money. These girls don't even know what it's like to really have a job.

I take it back. I'm proud my parents don't have the money to buy your sweater.

At least I know I'm a good person, with good values.

At least I know never to take anything for granted

-Cinderella

<< - >>

how this works
add your entry
current letter
older letters
guestbook
notify list
profile
email
host
lex